Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ancient Rome and Today: How To Screw Women

Posted by t. 
Ancient Rome and Today: How To Screw Women
October 15, 2012
Now, I know I am preaching to the choir, so to speak, but I would like to point out some similarity between what I perceive is happening now in the US and what happen 8 centuries ago in the Roman Empire.

I have done Classical Studies in my high school. That means that I studied latin and greek, among other things. My teacher of latin and greek gave us a book to read. The title, roughly traslated in English, is:
Tacita Muta, Histories of Roman Women from Tacita to Sulpicia by Eva Cantarella.

It is a rather in deep study of the role of women during ancient Rome.
You may not know it, but one of the way that Roman manage to keep the women subservient was by glorifing their status as Mothers. Differently from in ancient Greece, roman women had an active role in the education of the future citizens.

Now, when women, around the First Century before Christ started to get more and more freedom, men started to get allarmed. And how they tried (and, in the end, succeed) to reign them back to the heart? Of course. By making the role of Mother seems the Most Wonderful Thing a woman could aspire to. I would like to point that it had come to a point in which there was a female "lawyer", and female poets. Women were going out of the House. They -which is most important- could inherit like men. A young widow had a lot of freedom.

It is an interesting book, and made an interesting discussion about the true role of Motherhood, and how society had, in the past, put an astonishing amount of importance on that biological function... to fuck up women.
We were 17 years old, more or less. It was interesting.