Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Yay, we're filthy hedonists!

Posted by randomcfchick 
Yay, we're filthy hedonists!
April 09, 2015
Ha. Yet another article written by someone who can't fucking STAND that we're not living child-centered lives: http://tinyurl.com/kq92k9o

He uses a lot of intellectual allusions to try and cover for it, but he has his drawers in big knots over the fact that CF live what he considers "pleasure-oriented" lives. A lot of his arguments are ones I've seen before, just with more philosophical name-dropping.

Okay, we'll set aside the part where I work for a living, pay taxes, treat my loved ones well, and do all those typical adult things like reconciling my checking account, cleaning the house, taking the cat to the vet, and all those things that most adults do, childed or not. I'd say that yeah, much of my life outside of work and the aforementioned everyday responsibilities is, in fact, pleasure-oriented. And how, exactly, is this bad? Who's being hurt? (well, maybe the people who ask me nicely, but that's a whole 'nuther reality that would probably make this dude's head explode)
Re: Yay, we're filthy hedonists!
April 09, 2015
This guy is a complete fuckin' idiot.

I am NOT childfree to live a hedonistic life. I am CF because I didn't want to bring another human being onto an already overpopulated planet, I didn't want to be a single moo raising a child in poverty and I didn't want to raise a child with a MI, possibly passing those bad genes on to it.

As a result, I live a life of freedom and joy, not one of misery, poverty and depression. I am not contributing to the problem of overpopulation, which makes me feel good about who I am, and I'm not raising a child who could turn out to be a sociopath, tard or worse.

There are MANY good reasons why people don't have kyds, and this guy is only reading into it what he wants to see. In other words, he's JELLY of the childfree! Sux to be him.
April 09, 2015