Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How have you disappointed your parents?

Posted by Miss_Hannigan 
How have you disappointed your parents?
March 23, 2016
And by this title, I mean how have you grown into your own person, despite your parent's expectations when they held you as a wriggling baby and planned out your future in their heads?

My dad wanted me to be a good Catholic and a doctor, my mom wanted me to be a girly ballerina with three kids. I'm now a childfree athiest artist with two left feet and a fondness for combat boots. I married outside my race and I am mostly vegetarian. And I don't know if that makes me the black sheep, but I am very unlike anyone in my extended family.

--------------------
"[GFG's pregnancy is] kind of like at the stables where that one dumb, ugly-ass mare broke out of her corral one day and got herself screwed by the equally fugly colt that was due to be gelded the same afternoon."- Shiny
Re: How have you disappointed your parents?
March 23, 2016
I tried so hard to be the black sheep of the family but became the golden child. It is bullshit; I am a kinky bisexual atheist tattooed Childfree female engineer mad scientist with Aspergers. Where did I go right?
The worst part is that my family thinks my oddities are normal. I just don't get it.
March 23, 2016
Fortunately, I started disappointing my parents early, so they got used to it. They were fundamentalist Christians who had a girl and a boy. I (the girl) was supposed to be more feminine (I was a tomboy) and not quite as smart as the boy.

As an adult, I'm a liberal, secular humanist feminist who never married or had children. I'm also a pro-choice vegan. I have a good relationship with my mother, though I know that she wishes that I were different. I'm estranged from my father and brother, who followed the script. They are just too bigoted and obnoxious for me to tolerate their company. I actually like knowing that I didn't cooperate with my father's plans for me.