Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Customers harass teenage employees for ice cream

Posted by LoveToLurk 
Customers harass teenage employees for ice cream
May 14, 2020
Not technically a CF topic, but I had some thoughts (and Lord knows I can’t share them elsewhere) so please bear with me.

Basically what happened is that an ice cream shop in MA opened up with new guidelines, nobody followed them, chaos ensued, and angry customers felt it appropriate to begin screaming at the teenage employees, to the point that one of them quit in tears. The article doesn’t specifically point out breeders, but I have a hunch they were probably the worst offenders. Any ice cream shop I’ve ever been to is always crawling with kids, and we all know breeders don’t think the rules apply to them.

This story really struck a chord with me, as I think it would with anyone who served their time as a retail or foodservice employee as a teen. I worked as a waitress and a summer camp counselor all through college, and I noticed pretty early on that the rudest customers were the ones with children. As far as being a camp counselor, the abuse I endured from parents during those two summers was much worse than anything I endured in my later 10+ years as a teacher (by the end of my teaching career I had perfected the art of standing my ground and telling people to go fuck themselves in a professional manner). I’m talking about grown men and women literally screaming in my face. It seemed to be their first reaction to even the smallest of problems.