Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Shaken infant kept on life support for 12 years

Posted by Cambion 
Shaken infant kept on life support for 12 years
July 28, 2020
https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2016/03/24/he-fought-through-so-much-child-dies-12-years-after-suffering-shaken-baby-syndrome/

This is a story from 2016 about an incident that occurred in 2004, so forgive me for sharing old news, but it's my first time hearing about it.

So basically what happened is this proud papa bear shook his 4-month-old kid and it wound up with major brain damage. Duh, of course, denied doing this and claimed he found his son unconscious and that the kid choked on milk. Because as we all know, gagging on fluid causes skull fractures and brain hemorrhaging. A case report suggested possible signs of previous abuse and that there was evidence that the father threw the kid after shaking him too.

The diagnosis was that Junior was a vegetable due to shaken baby syndrome and would remain that way his entire life because the only part of his brain that wasn't damaged or dead was a small portion of the brain stem. Couldn't hear, see or move at all and zero chance of recovery.

There was concern that the parents were only insisting on continuing life support indefinitely so Duh could avoid being charged with murder. So someone was appointed by the court to make the decision to end life support because they figured the parents only wanted life support to prevent Duh from getting a longer sentence. The parents won and life support continued.

So they kept him on life support for twelve freaking years. And here I thought Jahi McMath was a trendsetter, but these morons kept a brain dead infant on life support for over a decade! I'm kind of curious how the kid actually developed when sustained by a machine. Did he look like a normal 12-year-old at the time of death? From a scientific/biological standpoint, I'm so curious.