Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

thumbs up"Hurray I'm registered!"(use this thread to introduce yourself)

Posted by zeropop 
I grew up with younger brother, in a house where my Dad works at home in a creative profession and my mom wore the pants. I'm 35 now and I went into a similar profession. I marketed my Dad's business once I got my computer degree, then, after making my Dad more money and new clients in a single 2 year period than he'd ever had, my mom retired from her job, and together, they fired me, and continue to use the clients I introduced them to to pay their bills, and ignore the internet's ability to make more, out of pride. Even before this happened, my mom would take a full 1-2 years off, every 5-10 years growing up, because "it's hard working AND being a mom". Now it's "I did my job". Meanwhile, my Dad will work until he'd dead.

At the same time all this was happening my brother got his wife pregnant and they had 2 kids in 3 years. Of course, even though I do practically the same thing as my Dad, and made my parents the money to afford her to retire, nothing I have done or will ever do will be one millionth as important as those precious carbon copies. My brother and his family live 9 hours away from my parents, and I live one, and our house is on the way. But....my folks see them 3-5 times a year, and never come over. My brothers wife is also a non-biological replica of my mom, who has never had a full time job once in the 12 years she'd dated / been married to my brother, and will no doubt ride the "stay at home mom" profession even when her kids are teenagers driving cars.