the secret cappuccino

Posted by mercurior 
the secret cappuccino
August 27, 2006
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/5274352.stm

'Product sabotage' helps consumers
By Tim Harford
Presenter, Trust me I'm an economist, BBC Two

It looks good, but are consumers getting the best deal possible?
Why would a company deliberately hide its best product?

Starbucks does.

Why would a company deliberately damage its best product?

Many hi-tech companies do that, and even my favourite local restaurant does.

It doesn't sound like a winning formula, but it's at the heart of the way many companies do business.

Take the secret cappuccino, which you can buy in two of the leading coffee chains, Starbucks and Coffee Republic.

The sales assistants know what the drink is and they have a little button on their cash tills to ring it up. It's cheaper than the other drinks on offer, but it doesn't appear on the menu.

Starbucks claims that's because they don't have room on the menu board. Coffee Republic doesn't even have that excuse: there's a blank space with no price where this drink should be listed.

It's called the "short cappuccino", and it's smaller, cheaper and better than the smallest size on the menu, the "tall".

Pricing battling

So what is going on?

It's all part of an attempt to aim different prices at different types of customer.

Any shop would love to be able to charge high prices whenever they could, while still offering low prices to customers who would otherwise shop somewhere else.

Consumers may have more goods to choose from than they think

Of course, if shops just asked their customers whether they would like a discount, every customer would say "yes", so shops need to get a bit smarter about working out which customers will pay which price.

Some of the attempts are obvious, such as discounts for students or pensioners.