Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

I may have been inadvertently jipped into donating to thuh chyldrun

Posted by retro lizard 
So, I'm at a 4th of July event being held downtown by an organization that geared toward downtown revitalization. I found a guy that had something I liked enough to spend some of my gift money on. I made my purchases, & the entire time, guy was polite & he very talented at the handmade items he was selling.

I was thinking that not only did I like what he made, but I would be helping his business of selling these things by buying a couple items. Also, as an artist, I can relate to funneling my passion, blood, sweat, & tears into my work, & wanting to charge a decent amount for intricate work that took hours, days, or weeks to complete.

However, when I was done making my final purchase, he said its all going to medical research for kids. While I think he may have been a, otherwise cool guy, for all I know & is just a little snookered in by sentimentalist bullshit, why did it have to be for thuh chyldrun? What about something that benefits everyone? I realize I'm beating a dead horse here, but just because adults can generally help themselves, & have the where with all to do so, doesn't mean they are any less worthy of compassion & charity. This is why when I willingly donate to charity, its either something that benefits everyone or something that is not getting enough attention.

He didn't mention it until after the final purchase, so it wasn't a manipulative ploy to passive aggressively, emotionally blackmail people into buying something. It didn't really feel like I was being jipped by him, just jipped by happenstance, but it was still a little irritating, especially since I thought I would be helping a fellow artist with their business.