Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

#1598 -- Moving in with a wanna-daddio

Posted by india_darshan 
#1598 -- Moving in with a wanna-daddio
June 26, 2006
Guest, I am no relationship expert. Look at my life! However, my advice is to not even think of moving in with a man who may not be rabid but thinks "you will come around". Trust me when I say that these wannbe-dads get even worse once the woman moves in or has that wedding band on her left hand. Another member, Catmommy, has posted on the exact same thing. Try fishing for her posts to see how these situations get much worse. A man or woman who wants to breed never "gets nicer" about it.
Anonymous User
Re: #1598 -- Moving in with a wanna-daddio
June 26, 2006
Thanks, India. And I will emphasize that NO NO NO WAY should a CF move in with a wannabreed partner.

At first, my ex-husband didn't seem to care that I didn't want kids. He just wanted ME, or so he said.

After the wedding, it was a whole 'nother ball game. His mommy wanted grand-brats (even though she had two from his breeder sister, that wasn't enough). We were always dragged to stupid loaf/toadler birthday parties, and there, the bingoes would fly.

A big part of why the marriage broke up was because of his family's pressure on him to breed, the fact that the ex really wanted a *mini-me* (actually a *mini-him*), and my refusal to cooperate with such.

If he had said from the get-go that he was hell-bent on having kids, no way would I have married him. And that is why I advise you, Guest, to NOT move in with this guy at this time. If he's expecting you to *come around*, that is a bad sign.

If he's a nice guy and you like him, just date him some more. See how it goes. Just please don't invest too much right now by moving in with him. If he still thinks he wants kids after a time, then it is time to dump him.

In the long run, if you two can't agree on the kids issue, it will NEVER work out. Trust me.

I wish you the best.
June 26, 2006