Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Why would anyone audit classes?

Posted by Cambion 
Why would anyone audit classes?
April 28, 2014
I got something in my email from my college asking if I wanted to audit classes. Looking up what that means, why in the blue fuck would anyone want to spend the same amount of money on a class as they would if they enrolled, but NOT get credit for it? I hate to say it, but I really would like to take one particular thing they have that's only a year long (certification, not a full blown degree). They introduced it right after I graduated and I would have taken it instead of the degree I did get if it was around three years sooner (they're both equally useless, honestly).

It's completely worthless, but something I'd like to do. But I already served my time at that place and have given them way too much money already. Besides, if I was going to, why would I pay all the money for the fucking courses and do all the same work as everyone else and get a grade, but unlike the official students, I wouldn't walk away with the "degree"? I'd just enroll.

Maybe I'm misunderstanding the concept of class auditing. Has anyone ever done it before?
Re: Why would anyone audit classes?
April 28, 2014
Some places allow you to audit at no or reduced cost. That can be a good option for someone who isn't sure they'll have the time commitment to complete the class, and I've also seen it used by low-income seniors who are taking the class for personal reasons rather than professional ones. There are some classes I'd consider auditing if I could attend for free; I just want to pick up some rudimentary knowledge without feeling like I have to delve into the subject deeply.

But pay full price to audit? The only person I can imagine that appealing to is a perfectionist who wants to preview the material so that when she does take it for real, she can get a perfect score.
April 28, 2014
In my area, auditing college and university classes is free.