Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Lost my mom today.

Posted by cfbitchfromla 
Lost my mom today.
October 19, 2014
My mom, Dorothy, died this morning after we were off the phone discussing where to have supper tonight. I just can't explain it to myself emotionally. Being a nurse, I know these things happen quickly and without warning. She sounded fine, but she said she had a headache and wanted to rest until we picked her up. Not long after we ended the time, the nursing staff at the assisted living community where she lived called us and said her alarm had been triggered and she was dead by the time they entered. Massive cerebral hemorrhage and simultaneous heart attack. Mom's had high blood pressure for years, but it was under control. The only explanation is that it happened and no more.

Mom lived the fullest life possible and on her terms. Being a force of nature, she would not have it any other way. She and dad (who passed years ago) were married for 37 wonderful years, and they were quite a couple of characters. My mom harbored a very wicked sense of humor and a razor-sharp with that she enjoyed bantering with dad. Dad was a no-nonsense, loving guy who was a great husband, mate and old-fashioned father who expected the best. Once, in a very candid moment, mom admitted to me that she would have liked to have been child-free and she felt guilty for it. I told her she should not feel guilty because she raised me to be an independent, educated woman with no barriers and no limits. I told her that my success was her success, and same for dad.

I only add this to the board to memorialize the passing of my heroine--my mom--who was brave, funny, smart, wickedly good at housekeeping (wish that would have rubbed off on me!) and one hell of a damned mom and wife.

Rest in peace, mom. You earned it. I don't know what, if anything, lies beyond death, but you will live on in our memories.

Thanks for letting me share.
Re: Lost my mom today.
October 19, 2014