Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Master's Degree???

Posted by stillwaters 
Master's Degree???
May 20, 2015
I'm feeling quite shitty. Back in March I applied for a job at my husband's company. He works in an industry that I have some background in as well. I pretty much nailed the interview, but the big bosses didn't want us working so close together. They promoted someone else in the company and offered me her vacancy. It was a bit more money with benefits and got me out of fast food so I jumped on it.

But now I'm hating it. The job is mind numbingly boring - I don't even get to use a computer. I QA printing jobs all day - if there are any to QA. My boss doesn't talk to me. My co-workers are reprobates who stand around and talk about what drugs they're on and what they'd like to do to certain females. The 2nd shift QA person is supposed to come in at 3:30 when I leave, but she wanders in at noon because she doesn't like staying so late (she also gets paid an hourly differential because she's [supposed to be] second shift). She either does absolutely nothing while I'm still there or undermines me so none of the reprobates respect me. Also, the person who got the job I originally applied for keeps coming into my department and doing things / making decisions on things that are now none of her business. The boss does nothing about any of this, is actually hardly there at all, and lets the place devolve into kindergarten.

I feel very self-conscious being in the middle of all this chaos. I don't fit in with the people I'm expected to work with. I'm way over qualified, bored to tears and starting to have stomach issues from the stress. I promised myself that if this job didn't work out I'd pursue my master's degree. Of course, I'm scared to death of taking on more student loans and amount of work a master's would take. I think I'd enjoy the work the master's would lead to, though, and I would definitely enjoy a better class of coworker.