Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

#1755 -- Not wanting to stay at home...

Posted by india_darshan 
#1755 -- Not wanting to stay at home...
August 10, 2006
Reading this rant made me remember what a former boss said to me at the place I worked part-time as a second job in 2003. The general sales manager was from Syria and close to 40. Even though he was very Westernnd very patriotic toward the USA due to being in this country since the age of 9, he still had the "arranged" type marriage to a much younger woman from the same part of the world. They had a toddler and an infant. The lady was very intelligent and spoke something like FOUR languages.

My boss was dismayed when he told me how his wife said she resented wasting her life away at home with the children. He told her and then me along with another co-worker how she had life so easy as well as how MANY women would "give their eye teeth" to have the same lifestyle. Sam did make excellent money. Of course, my young 19-year-old co-worker said that she wanted a man like Sam when she married!

I never got to know the man's wife except when she would call for him but I admired her for wanting more out of life than to change diapers, clean house, and play dumb games with a toddler. I also felt saddened that the lady's husband did not value having a wife who had her own mind and wanted to expand her mind even more. All I could think was how the wife's life was wasted once she married and had children due to the culture's dictates.