Advanced

"I hate all kids except my own because DNA"

Posted by antisprog 
"I hate all kids except my own because DNA"
July 26, 2023
I don't like other people's babies/kids

inpig breeder
I don’t like other babies/children
Hi moms! Looking for non judgemental replies please. I’m currently 38 weeks and 5 days. (Hoping baby will come soon)

Anyways, I’ve always noticed throughout my adult life (I’m also a teacher btw) that I’ve never particularly “ liked” babies or childrengrinning smileyand when I mean “like” I think I mean -I do like teaching children and it’s super rewarding I do love my job!! but have always seen children in a controlled professional classroom context and have build a professional distance from them. As fellow teachers will also understand this -that our students are not our friends. And I only like to teach grade 2 and grade 3. When I do see my students outside the classroom, I honestly run the other way sad smiley but I’ve never gushed over or loved children /babies.

My partner’s brother just had a baby last year and every time I see my nephew, I don’t have any particular interest in my one year old nephew. I don’t have an urge to hold him etc. He is cute but sometimes I find him annoying sometimes honestly and more interested in his development then gushing over him and kissing him etc and I think this is true for babies and children in general.

I know I will love my own child and I chose to have my child through IVF. (So a tough journey but feeling blessed) But just wondering if any other moms also feel the same about other children and babies?

I was thinking could it be because I’ve been a primary teacher for more than 20 years and have learnt to build a professional distance from children in general?

For those who aren’t even teachers and I guess just moms in general- are we really expected to love /like other babies/children?

(Note: I am also a 43 year old first time mom)

Thanks for any non judgemental responses.