Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

#1600 - Yay Linda Hirshman!

Posted by GreenGrass 
GreenGrass
#1600 - Yay Linda Hirshman!
June 26, 2006
I applaud Linda Hirshman for her boldness and confrontational stance against today's so-called "feminists" who think that being able to choose to stay at home and sprog and be a housewhore is some how empowering. Those mommy bloggers really chap my ass. My ire might be due to the fact that I had a job interview today, and was asked by the interviewer if I have any kids. Excuse me, "babies". I said, "No, it's just me, my husband, and our cat." Then she went on to say that she wasn't being discriminatory, that there are lots of "mommies" in the team I was being interviewed for. Mind you, I work in a health profession that is 90% female and quite breeder-brained. Then she went on to say that husbands can be needy like children too, ha ha. WTF?? Hello, I am an educated professional - what is this bullshit? I am a fully grown woman trying to get a professional job. Not some housewhore looking for "pin money" because hubby won't increase my allowance. Plus, would a man be asked such stupid, probing personal questions? NO, it would be assumed that he would do the job regardless of family situations. I can only assume it is because people in the job that I was interviewing have been getting preggers after being in the job and then quit. Mind you, this is a job that is done almost completely from home, and takes only about 15 hours per week. What a load of shit. Sorry but I can just really relate to that article and wish I could send Linda a thank you card for her boldness to say what really needs to be said.
Re: #1600 - Yay Linda Hirshman!
June 26, 2006
GreenGrass Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I had a job interview today, and was asked by the
> interviewer if I have any kids. Excuse me, "babies".

That's illegal. They can't ask anything about marital/parental status.
June 27, 2006