Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

But, who will take care of you when you're old?

Posted by surfinbird 
But, who will take care of you when you're old?
August 10, 2011
Your childfree children, that's who.

My mother, who is 77, had major vascular surgery 2 weeks ago.

Instead of sending her to inpatient rehab, and then to cardiac rehab - they sent her home....to stay with me. They figured since I am a nurse, work part time and have no children, I would be able to take care of her.

So, I have been washing, dressing, cooking, cleaning and doing wound care 20 hours a day when she should be in a rehab facility. I had reconstructive ankle surgery 7 weeks ago, but no one thought of that. The most important thing was that I had no children, so she could come home - a fresh vascular post-op.

So, the next time someone serves up that bingo, make sure you answer that the only ones taking care of old people are the childfree kids.
Re: But, who will take care of you when you're old?
August 10, 2011
Surfinbird ~

It seems as if you're really getting it from all sides lately! sad smiley

I've been there, it really sucks, I know.

One time I saw this description for a thing to teach you how to write your autobiography, some class or something.

I thought - I can do it in one sentence: "The fan was turned on, the shit was thrown at it." grinning smiley

It's a good thing I have a sense of humor.

Hang in there. Ask for help. DEMAND it! Whine and bitch like the breeders do. The squeaky wheel gets the grease.

Remember to take time for yourself. I'm sure your Mom is very glad for your help, too.
Not many people really care, and clearly you do.

Will try to send some 'positive vibes' your way.
August 11, 2011